Healthy living

Changing the way I look and feel one day at a time

I’ve spent a lot of time over the past few months…years…looking at old pictures, hiding from new pictures, and huffing and sighing when my pants and shirts don’t fit right. I’ve said time and time again that I was going to do better — start trying to lose the several extra pounds that I gained with Samuel and never lost. To be truthful there are a few pounds that just found their way onto my body over the past eight years.

In recent months I’ve started seeing all these people that have lost weight by doing all kinds of different things. I’ve seen at least 15 different people take the “Plexus Plunge” and start their weight loss and financial gain journey with the company. I know several people who swear by that crazy wrap thing by It Works. But wait…there’s more. If those companies don’t have what you’re looking for there’s Advocare and Zeal. Or you can go the extreme natural route and go with essential oils (I love my Young Living Oils by the way).

If you’re a woman who is less than satisfied when she looks in the mirror than you may be like me and think, “Wow, I really need this if stuff if I’m going to lose the extra weight.” You may feel the temptation every time you scroll past someone’s Facebook post advertising this stuff. If you’re like me you probably look at their before and after pictures and say, “I want that to be me.”

I am a very money conscious person and every time I’m tempted to buy these products I look at how much they cost and I quickly realize I don’t need these products as much as I want them. I’ve researched the retail costs and I’m surprised at how expensive some of this stuff is. I know it’s a little cheaper if you “join the team,” but I have tried and failed at three different direct sales jobs so I’m not looking to join a team. I’m also not looking the break my budget by spending so much money on weight loss products. I knew there had to be another way.

I decided on July 11 (ironically when Samuel turned 17-months old) that I was done complaining and done wishing that I was thinner. I was going to do something about it. Over the past 10 days I have lost 11 1/2 inches total — about 4 inches in my belly, about 4 inches in my waist, and 3 1/2 inches in my butt. I don’t know how much weight I’ve lost but it’s really inches that matter to me. Muscle weighs more than fat and I’ve got some incredible muscles in my legs now.

This was me exactly two months ago.

This was me exactly two months ago.

This was me on Sunday (I've lost about two inches since then) wearing the black pants I haven't been able to wear in almost three years.

This was me on Sunday (I’ve lost about two inches since then) wearing the black pants I haven’t been able to wear in almost three years.

I am having a few side effects though. I’m sleeping better at night and as a result less fatigued during the day. I’m not nearly as hungry so I’m eating less and I’m having a hard time eating sweet stuff without feeling sick from the sugar. My breathing is a whole lot better than it has been in a while (I have mild asthma). Overall I feel pretty amazing and I have a ton of energy (most of the time).

I know I’m holding you in suspense. What am I doing? And is it safe? I’m going to lose a few people here, but here’s what I’m doing:

  • Drinking a 1/2 ounce of water per pound of body weight (about 75 ounces a day for me)
  • Exercising

Did I lose you? I know I said the “E” word. For some people, the idea of drinking that much water in a day sounds crazy. Here’s the thing, when I was thinking about trying all of these products I realized that in order for these products to work I had to be consistent about taking them. Most of the programs recommend drinking water and exercising anyway. I thought about it and realized that I could not in good conscience pay for any of the above miracle drinks/pills when I hadn’t given the old-fashion exercise and water regime.

I started drinking the proper amount of water on July 11 and I’ve definitely noticed a difference. With me drinking all of that water I find that I don’t have time to drink anything else. That made it fairly easy to cut out soft drinks which has always been a big struggle for me. Also, by drinking so much water, especially if I drink a glass before I eat, I find that I don’t eat as much because I feel full quicker.

Since I’m one of those people who doesn’t have a personal gym in my house and I get bored easily with exercise dvds I went with a Daily Burn subscription. This first month is free, but after this month it’ll be about $13 a month. That’s basically part of what I will be saving by not buying soft drinks at Sonic so I’m still saving money. The thing I love about Daily Burn (sorry for the mini infomercial) is that I have several programs to pick from and each program varies in the amount of time a day/week you spend on it and the focus of the program.

The program I’m doing right now is a weight loss and sculpting program. It lasts for three months and I exercise six days a week for 30-40 minutes. Let me tell you, that first week I had to push through, but I did it. The fun thing about it is I never know what I’m doing that day. Yesterday I turned it on and found out that it was kickboxing day. Today was Butt, Hips, and Thighs.

Like I said, each program is different and there is one program that is only 15 minutes a day and there are some that last closer to an hour a day. It just depends on the program. I’ve tried different work out DVDs and I love this more than any DVD I could buy because the workouts are rotated so it gives you a total body workout and keeps you from getting bored.

In 10 days I’ve lost 11 1/2 inches and even started building up muscles in my legs, butt, and stomach — something that a little pink drink couldn’t give me.  I have heard so many women say that they tried drinking more water and exercising and that it didn’t work. I’ve said that before too, but you know what? I’ve never stuck with it. Exercising a few times and drinking a few glasses of water a day isn’t going to be enough.

It’s about a lifestyle change and I’m loving it. I look better and I feel a whole lot better than I have in a while. I wore a pair of black slacks to church on Sunday that I haven’t worn since September of 2012 (I kept them hoping I’d fit in them again). That accomplishment made me feel amazing. It made me feel more amazing that I accomplished it by just striving to be healthier through exercise and drinking water. I’m excited to see where I’ll be at one month since I’ve had such amazing results in just a little over a week. I’ll keep you updated!

Leave a Reply

