Frugal living / recipes

Breakfast for now and later part 1

Over the past several months I’ve fallen into the terrible cycle of letting convenience trump taste. Instead of taking the time to pre-cook and store things that I know how to make — I’ve allowed Walmart to do the brunt of my work.

Breakfast at my house for the past several months has been one of the following: Poptarts, Eggos, fruit, or cereal. These aren’t bad things, but do you know how much Eggos cost? It’s not a lot, but over time it can add up. Not only that, but the taste is just not the same to homemade food. I’ve spent a lot of time fighting the temptation to buy frozen pancakes just so I have something to quickly heat up in the morning for the kids. wpid-20150505_085154.jpg

I’ve decided that I’m going to do my best to get back to making more at home and relying less on pre-made meals that taste better if made from scratch. So, I started with pancakes.

Here’s the thing. I got up this morning and grabbed my box of “Just add water” pancake mix and planned to make enough for breakfast and to freeze for this week. I opened the box and found that moths had taken residence (I told you I haven’t made breakfast in a while). I was just about to give up on pancakes when I realized that if I was going to make pancakes to freeze for later, I might as well go all the way and make them from scratch.

So here’s the old-time Better Home and Garden recipe for pancakes:

1 1/4 cup of sifted all-purpose flour

3 teaspoons of baking powder

1 tablespoon of sugar

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 beaten egg

1 cup milk

2 tablespoons of oil

Mix the dry ingredients. Mix the wet ingredients together and then add to the dry ingredients. Don’t over mix because it’ll make hard pancakes.

I doubled this recipe and I got 8 medium-size pancakes (used 1/3 cup of batter each) and then 10 small pancakes to freeze for later (1/6 cup of batter each). We ate the medium pancakes and after the small ones cooled I put them in a freezer bag and threw them in the freezer. To reheat these, pop them in the toaster oven and heat for about a minute or two — long enough to thaw obviously. I’m sure you can heat these in the microwave too.

The great thing is that one morning of making pancakes and you can get three or more breakfasts out of it. This is wonderful for the mom getting ready to have a baby and needs to get stocked up on easy stuff. It’s also great for the mom that just doesn’t like cooking and wants to get a lot of meals with the smallest amount of effort. I like doing this because I figure if I bake double a few days a week then I’ve got enough stuff stocked away that I don’t have to cook if I don’t want to and I don’t have to feel the temptation of the freezer section at Walmart.

Leave a Reply

