articles / DIY projects / Family life / Frugal living / Homeschooling

Junk to treasure kitchen set

A few weeks ago I turned part of the classroom into a grocery store/house setup for Josiah. He loves having the grocery store. I used empty boxes of food and milk jugs to line the shelves and then found a toy cash register at Goodwill for $1.50. The “house” has a bookshelf pantry and a small wooden crib and high chair and plastic dishes to use.

Since setting all of this up and watching Josiah and his best friend, Faith, play in this house I’ve wanted to get him a kitchen set. I didn’t want to spend $40+ on a plastic kitchen set that would break or fade and get thrown away. I’d searched Pinterest and decided I’d eventually DIY one for him out of an old entertainment center or I’d just build one from scratch.

About a week and a half ago I found the perfect thing to use for the kitchen set. I was at our local thrift store and there was a stove/oven and sink/refrigerator that was made out of wood. It looked hideous and had a few flaws that needed to be fixed, but for $20 I couldn’t pass up the offer.wpid-20141121_125306.jpg

The first thing we did was take all of the hardware off and the doors and got ready to paint. We spray painted stove and sink silver to look like stainless steel. We painted the top of the sink and the faucet black to complement the silver. We bought new hardware for the doors because we wanted it to have handles, not knobs. Jimmi had to close up the holes on the door of the sink because the previous owners had the door on the sink open like the oven instead of like a refrigerator. We bought new hinges to go on the sink so the door would open correctly.

Instead of painting the burners back on top of the stove, Jimmi cut out wood that I painted black to go on top. This looked much nicer in the end compared to the painted on version. We added a few details including the words behind the knobs and hiding the screws that were used to hold everything together.

wpid-20141130_090901.jpgInstead of buying fake pots and pans and other things for the kitchen I went to our local Habitat for Humanity resale store and bought old pots and pans for cheap so it all looks more realistic.

The final product looks amazing in my opinion and for a total of $40 and a few days of elbow grease I’m please with it and confident that Josiah will love it. I can’t wait to see his face on Christmas morning when he opens this gift.

One thought on “Junk to treasure kitchen set

Leave a Reply

