Family life

Samuel is 6 months!

Yesterday Samuel turned 6 months old. I think I’ve said this every month, but where has the time gone?wpid-20140811_171051.jpg

As the days go by I start to see more and more into Samuel’s personality. My step-mom has nicknamed him “Smiling Samuel” because it seems like he’s almost always smiling. He loves to laugh and it is easy for big brother to get a smile or giggle out of him. It is interesting to already see that Samuel will terrorize Josiah with adoration over the next few years.

I’ve discovered he’s a pretty determined little guy. He’s always seem to hit those milestones early. He was rolling over both ways before his 4 month check up. Since about 5 1/2 months he’s been able to pull up consistently and sit up without toppling over. He woke up and decided to crawl about a week and a half ago and I haven’t been able to sit down for long every since.

He’s into everything because he’s curious about everything. I’m constantly taking my flip flops out of his mouth and stopping him from chewing on my toes. Just a few days ago we had to lower his crib because he’s started pulling up in there.

wpid-20140810_193659.jpgI’m still nursing exclusively and plan to do so until he decides to stop on his own. I had planned to wait until 6 months to start some solids, but at 5 months he seemed pretty ready. We have increased it some so he’s getting about 2 1/2 jars a day. We never did cereal. We probably won’t either unless it is adding a teaspoon to the baby food to give it a little weight.

At this point Samuel starts out the night in his bed at around 8-8:30 p.m. Around 2-4 p.m. he wakes up and I bring him in bed with me. Recently he’s started getting up again around 6 a.m. wide awake. If he does that I either put him in his bed and let him fall back to sleep or I keep him up for an hour or two and he goes back to sleep around 8 a.m. Those days his naps are messed up because he normally naps at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m., but we adjust. It’s the beauty of staying at home. I just go with the flow. He goes to sleep when he appears to need sleep, not when I schedule it.

Most people are convinced that the path Samuel is on now that he will be ready to walk by 9 months. I’m really hoping they’re wrong on that one. Honestly there’s no telling what Samuel could be doing by next month’s update. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

