Family life

Samuel is 5 months old!

It’s a little late, but a week ago my baby turned 5 months old! It’s a little hard to believe. It really doesn’t seem like it’s been that long ago since I was hugely pregnant. This time 5 months ago I was excited about finally getting to bring Samuel home after his week stay in the hospital.wpid-20140716_133345.jpg

He had his check up yesterday and he’s in excellent health. He’s 26 inches long and 16 1/2 pounds — not that it matters but he’s right at the 50th percentile so he’s pretty average as far as size. Developmentally speaking — not so average. My children tend to be a little like their mom, so they are slight overachievers.

Samuel is rolling over from back to front and front to back (has been for a while). About two weeks ago he started pushing up on all fours and trying to scoot. He’s not full blown crawling yet, but he can move around our living room pretty efficiently. A few days ago he started sitting up on his own. He still uses his hands like a tripod rather than sitting up without his hands, but he’s doing pretty good.

wpid-20140714_195538.jpgHe kind of freaked me out a little the other day because he got excited and kind of pushed/pulled himself up using his bouncer. So I have a lovely photo of my 5-month-old standing up. Even though I said I wasn’t going to start giving him food until 6 months, his appetite and appeal to food led me a few weeks ago to start giving him about a jar of food a day. Now he eats a half a jar at breakfast, half for lunch, and half for dinner. So he’s eating about a jar and a half a day. He seems to be liking it. It’ll still be quite a while before I start introducing anything other than baby food (aside from a tad of refried beans or potatoes).

He’s been really teething for about a month now, but we’re still waiting on that first tooth to break through. I’m not really pushing it though because he’s a very aggressive nurser as it is and I’m not looking forward to teeth.

It’s hard to believe that he’s already 5 months old. Hard to believe that the summer (despite the fact that it means nothing to us since we homeschool) is almost over. I just know that I’m going to blink and I’ll be worried about Christmas presents! But hey, let’s not rush it.

Leave a Reply

