articles / Faith / Family life

Reflect for the future

Today is a special day. Not only is it Mother’s Day, but Samuel  is also 3 months old today.  Three months old, 12 pounds and 9 oz. and 24 inches long. Time flies.10339746_10152016449706577_4381718423885281601_n

Since Mother’s Day last year there have been a lot of changes in my life, since the Mother’s Day before that there have been even more changes. I’ve posted about them before, but I feel like it is important to reflect on  your past in order to  move forward into the future. I think  it is important to see what God has done in our life in the past in order to see what good things might be in store for the future.

On Mother’s Day 2012:

  • We we still living in our 900 sq. foot apartment.
  • It was Jimmi, me, Josiah, and our Labrador, Jasmin, living in the house.
  • I had just graduated college with my Bachelor’s of Writing.
  • I was working a temporary full-time position at the newspaper. Josiah was in the toddler class at the daycare in town.
  • We were still trying to have a baby, but close to giving up after three miscarriages.

On Mother’s Day 2013:

  • We were living in a different town (close by) in our new 2300 sq. foot house with our new addition, a mastiff named Rajah.
  • I was working at the newspaper. I had only been at the job for a little over a month.
  • Josiah was in the 3 year old class at a new daycare/preschool. He was adjusting to me not being at home anymore.
  • Jimmi was working at the butcher shop where he’d been working since before we got married.
  • We had given up on the idea of having another baby after our fourth miscarriage and were in the process of filling out paperwork for adoption.
  • I was pregnant (for the sixth time) and didn’t know it.

On Mother’s Day 2014:

  • We are still living in our nice house in a different town.
  • Our family consists of Jimmi, me, Josiah, Samuel, and our two dogs, Jasmin and Rajah.
  • I am a full-time stay-at-home-mom (diving into the essential oil business)
  • Josiah is 1/3 of the way through Kindergarten at our homeschool.
  • Jimmi is working at the local poptart factory.
  • Samuel, the baby I was pregnant with last Mother’s Day and didn’t know it, is 3 months old today.

Looking at how my life has progressed since 2012 is really an eye opener. When I graduated college in 2012 I never thought we’d be living in a big house in a different city at this point. I never dreamed that with a Bachelor’s Degree I’d be staying at home. After so many miscarriages and after giving up in early 2013, I never thought that on this particular Mother’s Day I’d be toting around another baby.

I’m not sure what the future holds, but I can make my plans and pray that God shows me what His plans are for my life. As of right now our goals are for Jimmi to start school this fall and keep watching Josiah and Samuel grow. We’ve even tossed around the (premature) idea of trying for another baby once Samuel turns 2, which is something I never thought I’d be considering given our history, but God has already shown me that the possibilities when we trust in Him are endless. Aside from those things, I don’t know what the future holds.

I am blessed. In the past few years my life has changed dramatically in more good ways than bad (there have definitely been struggles along the way). When I started this blog a little over a year ago it was mostly a food blog with a little bit of extra stuff. Because of the major changes in my life I’ve had to change up my blog because I’m not primarily blogging about food anymore, I’m blogging about my journey as a stay-at-home-mom — my journey to becoming the Proverbs 31 wife and mother I should be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

