articles / Frugal living / Healthy living / recipes

Gluten-free, dairy-free chicken pot (no) pie

In order to not repeat the same meals all the time, I have to force myself to come up with a meal plan. This is a very loose plan, but at least it helps me make a variety of meals and it helps with grocery planning.

A few weeks ago when making my meal plan I decided to try making chicken pot pie. This is something I’d never done and I figured it’d be a nice change. When I made the decision to actually make it, I didn’t like the idea of taking the time to make a pie crust or mini pie crusts. I also didn’t like the idea of adding extra gluten to our meal that wasn’t totally necessary.

So I decided to come up with my own chicken pot pie minus the pie part. I was going to use rice instead.

Chicken pot pie on rice

Chicken pot pie on rice

Here’s what I used to make the chicken pot pie filling:

  • 1/3 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 3/4 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded cooked chicken or turkey
  • 2 cups frozen mixed vegetables, thawed

Basically I mixed all of this together in big pot. It didn’t have much taste so I added some more salt and pepper and then I added paprika and some garlic powder.  Then I made the rice and topped the rice with this chicken mixture. I was originally going to make chicken gravy but decided against it. The chicken pot pie on rice was OK. I wasn’t running back for thirds, but it was good and filling.

Chicken pot pie on mashed potatoes.

Chicken pot pie on mashed potatoes.

The next day for lunch I decided to use the rest of the chicken mixture, but instead of putting it on rice (rice was going to take to long to make and I was starving) I made mashed potatoes and chicken gravy. We put the mixture on the potatoes and put the gravy on top of that — similar to how a lot of people do a brown gravy pot roast. It was delicious. I did go back for seconds, but was too full to go back for thirds.

Both meals were very filling. The mashed potatoes tasted better than the rice did, but I think if we put the gravy on top of the rice it’d taste fine. I think the problem was that it was slightly dry. The nice thing was that it was gluten-free. Gluten-free doesn’t really mean healthy because I wouldn’t necessarily call mashed potatoes and gravy healthy, but by avoiding the gluten it prevents all the yucky digestive side effects.

I’d definitely make this again. Honestly, I’m getting my meal plan for the next few weeks together and I have a feeling that this is going to be on there.

Leave a Reply

