recipes

Gluten-free cornbread

For the past year our family has swerved on and off the road of eating gluten-free. We’ve eaten pretty healthy for the past year (minus the three months of my first trimester of pregnancy), but we’ve not been exclusively gluten-free. I make a few gluten-free meals throughout the week; sometimes on purpose, sometimes it just happens that way. We eventually want to go completely gluten-free, but with us adjusting to our new financial situation of me being a stay-at-home mom and having a newborn it’s just not always possible because we have X amount of dollars a week for groceries. Sometimes I have to choose more bang for my buck than gluten-free.

Two weeks ago I decided to do an elimination diet because Samuel would have episodes where he’d spit up quite a bit more than what I would consider normal. Josiah did this too and spent two weeks on acid reflux medicine to regulate his system. Instead of going that route I wanted to try seeing if there was an outside factor causing his spitting up. So, because I know Jimmi and Josiah are sensitive to gluten I started with eliminating gluten.

In my search for gluten-free meals that weren’t going to cost me a ton of money, I came across a simple gluten-free cornbread recipe. Not only was it easy, but it was really good.

Ingredients

1 cup white rice flour (this is what the recipe calls for but I used an all-purpose gluten-free flour mix)wpid-20140310_115324.jpg

3/4 cup cornmeal

2 to 3 tablespoons of sugar (I like sweet cornbread so I added quite a bit more than this)

2/ 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon butter

2 eggs

1 cup milk (can be almond or soy milk)

I preheated the oven to 400 degrees. Then I mixed all the ingredients, put it in the pan, and baked it for 15-20 minutes.

I noticed that this cornbread recipe is almost identical to one of the common regular recipes for cornbread except for the fact that it’s gluten-free.

Leave a Reply

