recipes

Gluten-free, sugar-free, dairy-free banana bread

I really hate bananas. I hate everything about them. I hate the smell, the touch, the taste — everything. I especially hate the fact that even if you buy green bananas they seem to go bad pretty quick.

Of course, everyone in my house and most everyone in my immediate family likes bananas. So, alas, I buy bananas. The other day I noticed that my bananas were going bad and I thought about making gluten-free banana bread. I’ve made regular banana bread several times before, but never gluten-free.wpid-20140121_205737.jpg

I ended up finding a recipe that was gluten-free, but as a bonus was able to easily converted to sugar-free and dairy-free as well. The results were apparently good — Josiah, Jimmi, Jimmi’s co-workers, and my Dad all thought it tasted delicious. Of course I wouldn’t know because I didn’t eat it. Heck, I even had Josiah smash up the bananas just to keep from getting the smell on my hands.

So, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 stick of butter (4 tablespoons)
  • 2/3 cup of sugar OR honey
  • 2 large or 3 medium VERY RIPE bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 cup of milk of your choice (I use almond milk, just be sure it is unsweetened and not a flavored kind)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups of gluten-free flour blend (You can buy GF flour blends or just mix two or three of your own)
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (optional…I never add nuts)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix butter, sugar (or honey). Then add mashed bananas, eggs, milk, and mix together.
  3. Add flour and salt to wet mixture and mix. Add nuts if you want. It will be runny, but don’t worry.
  4. Pour batter into a loaf pan and bake for 50-55 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Really simple. I actually plan on taking this recipe and playing around with it and adding cooked apples and cinnamon instead of banana. I think some apple cinnamon bread/muffins would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

