Product reviews

Gluten-free Apple Cinnamon muffins

When you buy gluten-free bread products or make them from a box, you risk it being rubbery or super dry and overall not tasty. wpid-20140121_100914.jpg

For me, the point of buying these products is NOT because I think because it’s gluten-free it’s healthier (because it’s not…it just doesn’t have gluten), but because in order to continue living a gluten-free and organic lifestyle you have to be able to indulge yourself a little every once in a while. The goal of eating gluten-free is because my husband feels better when we do (we’re starting to discover Josiah does too), not because we want to lose weight. So, I don’t mind buying sweet treats that are gluten-free.

I’ve been experimenting with a lot of gluten free products and yesterday I made gluten-free apple cinnamon muffins for breakfast. They are make by Hodgson Mills and I bought them from Walmart. I’ve said before that Kroger has a huge selection of gluten-free and organic products. Walmart has a half a row of gluten-free products…ironically enough, at the end of the bread isle!

wpid-20140121_103155.jpgWell, I had high hopes for these muffins, they smelled good when I mixed them together and baked them. I gave Josiah a couple for breakfast and started to eat them myself. Despite the fact that they appeared to be moist and fluffy, they were dry and didn’t have a whole lot of flavor. I didn’t even finish eating them. I threw them away. I figured honestly I could have made them better myself (as soon as the farmer’s market opens in April I probably will). Josiah, however, said he liked them. He ate both of the ones I gave him for breakfast and then last night asked me if he could have another “apple cupcake”.

So, I’m torn. I don’t know if my expectations were too high, if my altered pregnancy taste buds were tricking me or if Josiah is channeling his inner teenage boy and will really eat anything. I won’t buy these again because they were so dry and tasteless. Like I said, I do want to try making them myself (I think I could easily adapt a gluten-free banana bread recipe for apple).

Josiah liked them, I didn’t. So I guess you can pretty much buy them at your own risk. If I remember correctly it was $3.75 (or somewhere around there) for the box and it made eight muffins. That’s my opinion. I guess if you’re curious enough, give it a try for yourself.

Leave a Reply

