articles / Family life

Week 1 of staying home complete

Last weekend, when it really sunk in that I was no longer daily bound to an alarm clock and 9-5 schedule I began to wonder if this first week at home was going to be like a detox.

Was I going to sit around and do nothing? Or was I going to be amped up on nesting hormones and work all week? Yes. And yes.

On Monday I did a ton of stuff. I did a lot of cleaning and canning and school work with Josiah. I even managed to squeeze in blogging and taking Josiah to the library. Pretty successful day in my book.

On Tuesday I don’t think I did anything at all for the first half of the day. I thought about doing laundry, but didn’t. I think I actually made pancakes for breakfast, but that was it. I took a nap from about 2-4 p.m. because my body is really starting to wear down easily again like in the first trimester. Finally at 3 p.m. when I could hear all the kids walking home from school (we have a junior high and elementary school right down the street from our house) me and Josiah started school work. On Monday he did all of his school work for Monday AND Tuesday, so we started Wednesday’s stuff. We made pizza together for dinner and that was it. That was Tuesday.

Wednesday I got up at 8:30 a.m. and started cleaning. I got all the dishes done (one load since I’ve been doing them daily) I got the dining room straightened, cleaned the den, swept and mopped the house. Josiah cleaned the bathroom and I picked up the living room, cleaned the pantry (we have a huge pantry/storage area) and then I started and finished organizing and setting up Samuel’s room — by 11 a.m. After lunch I took a couple of hour nap and Josiah and I worked on his school stuff that I’d written out for Thursday and that was it. I don’t even remember cooking dinner. I’m pretty sure Josiah had PB&J. I think I may have ended up blogging late at night but I’m not sure.

I had a doctor’s appointment on Thursday at 10:45 a.m. and right after that we had a family grocery shopping trip. As soon as we got home we put the refrigerated stuff up and headed to Josiah’s therapy stuff for his sensory issues. Then I had to go to Walmart and pick up a few things that Kroger didn’t have. Josiah had a poptart and an apple for lunch that day. I think I finally had a sandwich somewhere in there when I’d finally gotten sick from being so hungry. No cleaning was done. No school was done. I actually ended up taking a nap from 7:30-9:30 p.m. while Josiah watched Scooby Doo on Netflix before bed. Since I took a pre-bed nap, I worked on laundry and then actually took a shower.

Today has pretty much been a free day. We took another trip to the library because Josiah wanted his Dad to go with him. Then we went to a few thrift stores and Goodwill to see if there were any deals. I found some three-letter spelling flash cards for 75 cents, phonics flashcards for $2.99, a handwriting practice book for $1 and a big cork board bulletin board for $4. So I scored pretty cheaply on a few school items. Then, while Josiah “took a break” in his room to watch a movie, I took a three hour nap. Seriously, this nap thing is getting out of control!

If you’re wondering, no I do not plan on doing a play by play of my week every Friday. The reason I wanted to post this is because it really shows how most of my weeks will probably go as a stay at home mom. There will be days when I get a ton of stuff done and people think I’m super woman. Then there will be days where I have to think back to see if Josiah got lunch (luckily he’ll fend for himself if I forget — which doesn’t happen often). I know many moms who stay at home and homeschool that say they have the same type of days.

I’m not Betty Crocker or Mary Poppins. There will not be three home cooked meals made daily and a day full of activities that I pull out of my giant carpet bag. The important thing, no matter how much I accomplish during the day is that I’m not embarrassed if someone comes over unexpectedly because my house isn’t a complete wreck and that Josiah is learning and having fun and has the ability to come to me anytime he needs help. He is learning to be self-sufficient (we have lots of towels on hand for self-sufficiency) and I’m learning that it won’t kill Josiah for him to watch a movie and entertain himself once I finally crash and need a nap. Oh, it and won’t kill Josiah to eat a poptart and apple for lunch every now and then.

 

One thought on “Week 1 of staying home complete

Leave a Reply

