articles / DIY projects

A pillow with a purpose

Since I’ve started sewing Josiah has really gotten excited about me making things. He gets excited about things I make for Samuel and he gets excited about the things I make for him.

The other day I went to spend the rest of my Hancocks gift card and found this really cute yellow pastel fleece in the “miscut” section. It was thick and perfect for a baby blanket. Well, I went over to see if I could find some flannel to pair with the fleece in order to make a nice warm blanket for Samuel. This whole thing about having a winter baby is so different since Josiah was a summer baby.

I have a slight feeling that since not only these two pregnancies were so different and the fact that Josiah was a summer baby and Samuel will be a winter baby that Josiah and Samuel will be completely different…of course that’s a different post…back to the fabric.

So I found this really cute dinosaur fabric to match the fleece I found and got a yard of it. I knew that there was no way that I was going to use a yard of fabric for a baby blanket, but I really like to have leftovers just in case I find something else to make with it.

20140102_214655Once I got home and started eye-measuring my blanket, Josiah started eying the dinosaur fabric. So I asked him if he wanted me to make him a blanket. I figured I could make a 1/2 yard throw blanket for Josiah and a blanket to perfectly fit Samuel. But no. That’s not what he wanted. He said he had a lot of blankets, but he wanted lots of pillows.

Seriously. Pillows.

My first thought is that I don’t have stuffing for pillows so what in the world am I going to do? Then I remembered an idea that I saw somewhere at some point (specific I know) — stuffed animals.

Instead of making an actual pillow I was going to make what looks like pillow case with Velcro instead of an opening. The concept is that you put the child’s stuffed animals in there instead of stuffing. That way you have somewhere to put the millions of stuffed animals kids acquire AND they have a pillow.

In my case, I’ve got stuffed animals that I used to decorate Josiah’s room when he was a baby and Jimmi and I have stuffed animals we didn’t want 20140102_221038to part with.

So here’s what I did for my pillow:

  1. I cut a square of fleece and flannel to make my pillow. It really doesn’t matter what kind of fabric you use, whatever you want I guess. I like the fleece and flannel together because it’s soft and comfortable.
  2. I sewed the two pieces of fabric together on three sides — I left one of the shorter ends open. I guess that makes my pillow more rectangle than square, but whatever. Make sure when you sew the two pieces together they are wrong side out. That way you can flip it inside out and it will be on the right side (did you catch all that?).
  3. After that I sewed Velcro on the inside of the open end. That way the stuffed animals will be closed in and won’t fall out.

Yep. That’s it. Three simple steps (this sounds like an episode of Special Agent Oso).

I have to say, Josiah LOVES IT. He’s been sleeping on it every night. The nice thing is the pillow could be made small enough to be a throw pillow or a big one to make sort of a sitting cushion for reading or watching TV.

20140102_221414The great thing is that it probably took me about 30 minutes (give or take a few) to make the pillow. Now that I know what I’m doing it may not take that long.

Leave a Reply

