articles

The start of a new chapter

I haven’t posted anything in a little while, partially because getting ready for Christmas is a big rush and partially because our family has made a few big decisions about the future and basically we’ve been spending the past few weeks sorting it all out.

33 1/2 weeks

33 1/2 weeks

The biggest breaking news in our lives (unless you’re friends with me on Facebook) is that I’m quitting my job. Back in November, I sat down and wrote out our finances. What I was looking was disgusting. Child care for Josiah and Samuel was going to be $960 a month. That’s 75% of my salary at the paper. My first thought was, “what’s the point in that?” So I started doing some more figuring.

The other 25% of my salary was pretty well guaranteed to going to buying diapers for the daycare (we’re doing cloth, but I wasn’t going to make the daycare do that) and eating take-out a few times a week because I’ll be too exhausted to cook (I’m already too exhausted to cook).

I discovered that by staying home, not only would I be saving $960 a month on child care, but I’d also be saving money because I’d be buying food at the grocery store to cook meals daily instead of buying quick meals for at home, which cost more in the long run than cooking from scratch.

Then there were the things that money can’t buy.

With me working, Josiah and Samuel would both be at daycare/preschool from about 9 a.m. to about 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. That’s 37 1/2 hours a week. Not only that, but since I’m breastfeeding, I’d be spending about 20 minutes every two hours sitting in a small, hidden space pumping milk for the daycare. For anyone who has every used a breast pump, you know that they’re nice to have, but not fun to use.

Josiah didn’t go to daycare until he was 6 months old and when he did, he only went for a few hours a couple days a week. He didn’t go full-time until he was almost 3 years old.

After figuring out all of that technical information, I prayed and talked to my husband about. It was at that point we decided it wasn’t worth it. My working is not worth the $200 I’d be bringing home after paying for daycare. Basically, I’d be working to pay for someone else to keep my kids while I’m working. What’s the point in that?

When I was staying home with Josiah and homeschooling, there was a financial gain in me working full-time. Now that Jimmi has a different job that pays a lot more and add in the fact that we’re about to have another baby — it changed everything.

So January 10 is my last day at work — I’ll be 36 weeks along. I figure that will give me enough time to get everything ready for Samuel to get here and adjust to being at home. Josiah’s last day of school was the Friday before Christmas and he’s enjoying it. He keeps asking me when I’m going to be staying at home with him (right now Jimmi has two-weeks off for Christmas and New Year’s).

Another exciting thing about me staying at home is that we’ve decided to homeschool. YES. We decided to take that plunge. I was doing it before and enjoyed it and I always wished that we had a way to do it and now I do. So Josiah’s classroom is already mostly stocked and his curriculum is ready and after recovering from Samuel’s arrival we’ll be jumping into school.

My future posts will definitely be about saving money, homeschooling, DIY stuff and healthier cooking…all the stuff I wanted to do from the start.

One thought on “The start of a new chapter

  1. Pingback: While I’m at home doing nothing… | Be Organic and Healthy

Leave a Reply

