articles / Product reviews

Gluten-free noodles

Our family likes to eat spaghetti, but more specifically we LOVE chicken tetrazzini. This wasn’t a problem for us until we started cutting out gluten.

I have tried noodle upon noodle trying to find one that I like. The rice noodles are pretty much all the same. You have to be super careful when you’re cooking them because if you cook them just a few seconds too long they end up being mushy. Regardless of how long they’re cooked, forget about leftovers. By the time they’ve set in the fridge all night it’s a really mushy mess once you reheat it.

Most of the noodles I’ve found are the rice noodles. There’s been several times that in order to have our favorite meal, we’ve sacrificed the gluten-free for the evening. I’d prefer to find a good gluten-free noodle, but if I can’t, I’m still not going to sacrifice my chicken tetrazzini.IMG_3395

A few weeks ago when I was at the grocery store I found gluten-free macaroni and cheese that was made out of corn noodles instead of rice. I haven’t tried them yet, but I’m hopeful.

Last week, when we were at Kroger, I found noodles over in the regular noodle section that were gluten-free. They were made out of rice, quinoa, and corn flour so I was hopeful that these would turn out different than the rice noodles. Well, they turned out different all right.

I was multi-tasking as usual, so I was writing and cooking at the same time. After a minute or two of boiling the noodles, I went to check on them and saw that the water had turned into this white frothy soup. It looked like cream of chicken without the chicken. I turned off the noodles and I put them in the strainer to rinse them out — OK, so Jimmi was rinsing them out. When he started rinsing the noodles to try again, the noodles just fell apart (we were using penne noodles). I was frustrated, but I had the same kind of noodles in the cabinet, except they were spaghetti noodles. I decided to try again.

After about one minute, the spaghetti noodles were turning into the same hot mess that the other ones did. I was pretty annoyed. After all, anyone that buys organic or gluten-free knows that it is more expensive than regular food — you learn to save and be frugal with your food. And here I’ve wasted two meals worth of noodles on this one meal, but I didn’t even have anything for dinner…I ended up using my egg noodles that I had in my pantry. Egg noodles aren’t really gluten-free, but they have a lot less than regular noodles. For a celiac, that’s not good, but for someone just trying to cut out gluten it’s better than nothing.

The noodles I bought were the Kroger brand noodles. I’m not sure if it was the mixture of the ingredients that made the noodles or just a cruddy Kroger brand, but I will definitely not pick those noodles again. I give the Kroger GF noodles that are made out of rice, quinoa, and corn a big fat -F for failure.

Leave a Reply

