Pregnancy

16 week baby update

I’m still slightly in shock, but yesterday I hit 16 weeks!

baby

Inside my belly at 16 weeks!

At this point the baby is about 4 1/2 inches from head to rump and is about 3 1/2 ounces. He or she is about the size of an avocado. At this point baby can actually hear me talking and responds to outside stimuli. I’ve been feeling the baby move sporadically for about two weeks, but it’s getting stronger by the day and more frequent. This is one of my favorite parts of pregnancy! Nausea is pretty much gone and I haven’t been sick in a few weeks.

In my first trimester I actually lost weight because of sickness. Because of that sickness even though my body is starting to say “I’m pregnant” and my clothes haven’t fit in weeks, I still haven’t quite gotten back to my pre-pregnancy weight. That’s OK though because I am gaining weight at a slow pace and that’s a good thing. The less weight I gain now, the less I’ll have to lose later.

I was really anticipating my doctor’s visit today because I love to hear the heartbeat. Of course, in the back of my mind there was that thought that there could be a problem. I’ve seen the healthy ultrasound, I’ve had plenty of symptoms, and there’s been no spotting or cramping, yet in the back of my mind I still want that reassurance. I don’t think that this has too much to do with the miscarriages in the past though because I did that during my pregnancy with Josiah. Every time I’d have an appointment I’d be slightly anxious. Once he started moving around I started poking and prodding him daily encouraging him to move around and let me know he was OK. I’ve already been doing that with this one.

At my appointment they brought in the doplar to listen to the heartbeat and at first she had a hard time finding it. She kept moving around and moving around and I was silently praying that she better find that heartbeat. After about a minute she picked it up for a second, but she kept losing it. That silly baby was playing hard to get by moving around every time she’d get the heartbeat. Baby finally decided to stay still and he or she has a steady heartbeat of 142.

If you want to take stock in un-scientific methods of guessing gender, a heartbeat of over 140 means it’s a girl. Jimmi is convinced that this was just confirmation. Thankfully though, we’ll have more confirmation on Sept. 24 when we get our “big” ultrasound and see whether we’re having a boy or a girl.

I don’t care if we have a boy or a girl, I’m just still praising God every time I hear the heartbeat, feel movement, or look down at my growing belly that there is actually a baby on the way. A boy would be easy in some sense because we’ve already got one and I know how to handle boys (for the most part…). A girl would be nice because who knows if we’ll have another baby — we’d have the All-American family then, dad, mom, a boy and a girl. I trust and I know that no matter if this baby turns out to be a boy or a girl that he or she will be exactly what God wanted us to have and he or she will be a special and extremely blessed child either way!

One thought on “16 week baby update

  1. Pingback: 16 weeks and I spy a baby bump! | 4thischildweprayed

Leave a Reply

