recipes

MSG-free ranch dressing

Ranch dressing and ranch dressing mix is pretty versatile. You can use it in a ton of stuff.  Ranch mix is used in various recipes and ranch is used for everything from salads to dipping things in.

The problem is, the majority of ranch dressing has MSG’s in it — it’s not good for you. I have found one ranch dressing that I like (Jimmi doesn’t) that is MSG-free. It’s Bolthouse Farms Yogurt Ranch Dressing. The flavor is slightly different (no MSG to enhance the flavor), but it is really good on salads.IMG_3380

The thing is, I have one of my favorite recipes that call for a packet of ranch mix. In my pre-enlightenment days, I would just go to Walmart and get a packet of ranch. Sadly I know more now than I did, so I had to find my own recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup DRY buttermilk
  • 1 Tablespoon of dry parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill week
  • 1 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

I didn’t know this before, but in the aisle that has baking powder, soda, and dry milk (yes dry milk) there is also this nifty thing called dry buttermilk. I have found a few recipes that called for buttermilk, but the problem is, I don’t keep buttermilk in the fridge (honestly, who can tell if it’s good or bad?). I’ve discovered that powdered buttermilk will stay in the fridge after opening for a few months. Meaning I’m saving money and I always have buttermilk on hand when necessary.

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender…If you want too. Most of my ingredients are crushed to a powder already so I don’t worry about this. If you’re using fresh ingredients, don’t skip this step. Blend high until smooth.
  2. If you want to this to make salad dressing, combine 1 tablespoon of mix with 1 cup of mayonnaise and 1 cup milk. DO NOT USE MIRACLE WHIP!!! It is NOT the same. Use vegginaise or mayo made with olive oil to avoid the preservatives.
  3. For recipes, use 1 tablespoon of mix for any recipe calling for a packet of ranch mix.

If you make ranch dressing, don’t keep more than a week, there are eggs and buttermilk in the the ranch dressing and it’s not going to keep as long — you don’t want to get sick.

If you leave it as the powder, I make a rule to not keep it more than two weeks, after all, there’s not really a way to tell if the powder has gone bad, but it doesn’t have the egg in it.

3 thoughts on “MSG-free ranch dressing

  1. Pingback: Fall foods: Texas Stew | Be Organic and Healthy

  2. Pingback: Low Calorie Ranch Dressing | Marpay Fitness

  3. Hi there! I really like your recipes, this one in particular because I’m BIG fan of ranch. I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster Award – check out my latest post for more details! ❤

Leave a Reply

