Product reviews

Broccoli and cheese soup

I’m not a huge soup fan, but I’ve been wanting to try a few different things so I thought, “Why not?” I bought this package of Broccoli Cheddar Cheese soup at Walmart in the ever growing gluten-free section.20130715-175442.jpg

I let it sit in the pantry for about two weeks before my pregnancy craving for grilled cheese (do you know how long it’s been since I’ve eaten one of those?!) hit. I figured, grilled cheese and soup — good combo.

The nice thing about this package of soup was that it was enough for Jimmi and I to have a cup of soup each. All you have to do is add water. The best part is, you can actually add boiling water to the package and not worry about a bowl (less dishes!).

The recipe said (I think) to add one cup of water, but I ended up adding about 1 3/4 cup of water because we thought it was too thick. Jimmi said he’d prefer next time if I added even more water because he still felt like it was too thick.

The taste was pretty good. Like I said, I’m not a huge fan of soup so I didn’t eat much anyway, but as far as soups (especially GF) it was good. It tasted more like potato and broccoli and cheese soup because instead of a bunch of flour they used potato as a filler/thickener.

The health facts about this soup are pretty good too. Of course, as I said the soup is gluten-free. It’s also got NO PRESERVATIVES, NO 20130709-180047.jpgMSG, and the ingredients are ALL NATURAL. The cost wasn’t so bad either. I think I paid about $4 for this soup and it fed two of us.

I’d definitely buy this soup again (probably in the winter, not summer). The great thing is there are several other soups made by the same company; I believe they had a tomato soup, but I didn’t pay too much attention because I don’t like tomato soup.

— Erica

Leave a Reply

