articles

Homemade rice flour

For those of you that have been buying gluten-free flours or have seen the cost of them, you know that frugal and gluten-free flour is hard to put in the same sentence.  Almond flour is around $5 a bag (depending on where you buy it) and even the cheaper rice flour (which I typically buy) is still nearly $3 a bag (these are NOT 5 pound bags like regular flour either).

The flour looked good, but in practice was a complete waste of time.

The flour looked good, but in practice was a complete waste of time.

Because gluten-free flour is so expensive, most of the GF people I know either use the flour (very) sparingly and learn to substitute (like using cauliflower as a pizza crust) or they just suck it up and pay the price.

I was curious so I googled recipes for making your own GF flour. I was excited to see that there were a lot of articles about how to do it. Buying almonds and making flour is just as expensive (and more time consuming) as just buying it, but I figured it’d be worth a shot to make the rice flour.

I found two different methods. The first one said to just grind up dry rice and sift it. This did not work. As soon as I started to use it in a recipe, the rice pieces swelled up and it felt like riced cauliflower and was not smooth. It actually felt like grits.

The other method I found said to soak the rice for an hour or two and then let it dry before grinding it. This made sense to me. This method allowed the rice to swell before I ground it into flour so when I used the flour it would turn to that gritty feeling like before. Nope. Wrong again. I did it exactly as the recipe told me and I still ended up with a grits-like texture after I added liquid to my flour.

After that I decided it was just worth spending the money on the flour — at I know it’s reliable. So now I just do what my other GF friends do and try to eliminate the need for the flour as much as I can. For example, until we went GF I wouldn’t go near a corn tortilla. Well, now I really like having quesadillas with corn tortillas (and they’re pretty cheap too). This prevents me from having to make tortillas every time I have the desire for some mexican, which due to being pregnant is very very often!

Being frugal is fantastic, but as every woman knows there are just some things you can’t cut corners on for the sake of frugalness and flour is one of them.

–Erica

 

Leave a Reply

