articles / recipes

Gluten-free macaroni and cheese

I love macaroni and cheese. Why? I don’t know, I just do. My son loves macaroni too. So when we decided to go gluten-free (I admit we haven’t completely cut gluten out, but we’re doing good) I panicked to think of what I’d do 20130702-165726.jpgwithout my macaroni and cheese.

I’ve been experimenting a lot with the gluten-free noodles (primarily rice noodles) so I decided to try making gluten-free macaroni and cheese.

The recipes I’d found for macaroni weren’t very good. They all involved taking flour, milk, and butter and heating it up and then adding cheese. For those of you that don’t know — flour, milk, and butter are the ingredients for white gravy. So basically I was making white gravy and adding cheddar cheese. Not good.

The rice-based macaroni noodles aren’t bad, you just have to make sure you cook them enough, but not too much (you’ll end up with a soggy mess).

The tastiest way (at least to me and my family) is to do it the Velveeta way. Yes, I know Velveeta isn’t the best food out there, but I figure with everything I’m cutting out, I get to indulge myself every once in a while.

For the macaroni I just melted Velveeta and added milk (almond milk for dairy-free)  until it was the consistency I wanted. Then I added the noodles. This was much easier and cheesier than the white gravy with a little cheese macaroni. Cost-wise it’s a little bit more than buying a box of macaroni, but it’s healthier (minus the Velveeta) and it’s gluten-free. A block of Velveeta is $5 (but you only need 1/4 of it) and the noodles are $2 (a package of these noodles is more than what you get in the box).

At Walmart I recently discovered a box of gluten-free macaroni and cheese. I bought a few boxes and I’m hopeful. There’s no preservatives, no processed stuff, and no gluten (it’s made with real cheddar, not Velveeta). I haven’t tried it yet, but when I do I will be doing a product review for you.

—Erica

Leave a Reply

