articles / recipes

GF French toast

In an effort to make our gluten-free switch a little bit easier, last week I bought some GF breads.     IMG_3032

I bought some regular white bread and I bought Pecan bread (both have to be frozen). Well, when I opened up the pecan bread and had my Dad try it his response was, “This bread has no taste.” Annita and I both tried it and we agreed. The texture was OK, but the flavor just lacked. I was expecting a stronger pecan flavor and I couldn’t taste it at all.

Annita slathered some Nutella on it and said it tasted better. I was saddened at the money I’d wasted on two untasty breads. I knew that if we didn’t care for it, the hubby wouldn’t eat it either.

I’d left the bread alone in the freezer, nearly forgetting that it existed until the other night. Jimmi was complaining about being hungry at 9:45 p.m. and I was trying to find something to make. Yes, I know, you’re really not supposed to eat that late, but the dramatic change in our eating lifestyle has caused our hunger to be a little sporadic.

It hit me that this thick, untasting bread would be perfect for french toast.

So here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs (for six slices of this bread I could have used only 1 egg)
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk (if you decide to use 1 egg, use 1/4 cup of milk)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt (I left this part out and it tasted fine)

Basically you mix the liquids, dip the bread into it and then throw it into skillet with oil (very little oil — use canola or coconut oil or another healthier oil — skip the veggie oil).

While I was cooking them, I sprinkled cinnamon on mine. They were very tasty. The thickness of the bread worked really well with making the french toast. Mmm…just typing this makes me want to make them again.

–Erica

Leave a Reply

