articles

Cheating on the gluten-free lifestyle

This is an impromptu post. Before twenty minutes ago I hadn’t thought about posting what would happen if I cheated and indulged myself in a gluten-filled, additive-filled meal. Well, now I’m thinking of it. Why? Because I did it. We starting cutting out gluten about two weeks ago, but we’ve really been strict about it for almost a week and I can already tell the difference.no gluten

Wednesday’s are always crazy because by the time I get off work it’s time for church. I don’t change after work and I don’t eat dinner I just drive straight to work. By the time I got out of church I was starving. So I thought to myself, “You know what, you’ve been doing really good with this whole gluten-free thing…why don’t you just indulge yourself and stop by Zaxby’s on the way home. What could it hurt?”

I got me some chicken and I got four chocolate chip cookies (with the intention of sharing). I started eating a cookie on my way home and by the time I got home I’d eaten all four of them without even realizing I was doing it. Additives are a drug. They rewire your brain into saying gimme gimme gimme. Did I want to eat four cookies? No. Did they taste good? Yes. All the additives in the cookies were firing through my brain like crack. This stuff is real — it isn’t meant to be funny. The saying, “you can’t have just one,” is accurate and has fact to back it up.

So once I scolded myself for even buying the cookies in the first place I actually ate my chicken for dinner. It tasted good, but wanna know what I’m left with once my brain recovers from that artificial high? I’m left with that good old gluten-filled bloating that people think is just a signature of being “stuffed” after a good meal. I’m left with no energy because the sugar and the wheat/gluten in the chicken and cookies gave me a blood sugar spike which then dramatically dropped.

I’m left with the misery of how I feel now and the memory of the 15 minutes of feel good. Let’s just say I’m going to refer back to this next time I try to cheat in the future. The thing is, in the beginning of the journey to being gluten free, there are going to be days when you’re going to want to cheat, there’s going to be days when you’re going to cheat, and there’s most definitely going to be days where you feel like you’re going through withdrawals. When you’re used to having all of the gluten, sugar, and additives in your diet, you’re going to go through withdrawals when you eliminate them from your diet. As you can tell from my post though, suffering from withdrawals is much better than suffering from an overload of the junk you’re trying to give up.

–Erica

2 thoughts on “Cheating on the gluten-free lifestyle

  1. Stay strong and Don’ t cheat. You’ll feel much better in the long run. I’m 2 months gluten free. After accidentally being “glutened” last weekend and felt awful from the result of it, I know I’ll never be switching back even though I chose to go GF voluntarily because of what my body was telling me. me It’s a tough road, but stick with it. Best of luck to you.

  2. My step-mom, Annita, and I who run the site are both doing this voluntarily because we know it’s healthier, and we’re listening to our bodies like you said. My husband has a gluten sensitivity and my Dad has non-alcoholic fatty liver disease which can be reversed by going GF. I don’t think I’ll have to worry about cheating again…Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

