Product reviews

Cereal: Cinnamon Heaven

I enjoy snacking. All the new research I’ve discovered has lead me to believe that the majority of people enjoy snacking and the reason is all of the “snacky” foods contain things like high fructose corn syrup and other things that release feel good endorphins. Almost sounds like I’m talking about crack — not cheetos.

From what I’ve learned, by going to an organic and gluten-free (which essentially is wheat free) lifestyle I’ll eventually not feel the need to snack all the time because when I eat I’ll feel satisfied and there won’t be anything triggering my brain to want more when I’m not hungry.

For now though, I snack.

The new thing I’m snacking on is Van’s Cinnamon Heaven cereal.

16152 CH_Cereal 8.1Here’s the highlights of this cereal:

  • Gluten-free
  • Kosher
  • All natural (meaning no preservatives such as corn syrup)
  • Full of whole grains (no wheat)
  • GMO-free
  • High in fiber
  • Dairy-free
  • Corn-free
  • Low sodium
  • No artificial colors or flavors

And best of all, it tastes amazing.

It tastes like a cross between Pops and Cinnamon Toast Crunch. It’s got a nice cinnamon sugary flavor with the crunchy taste of Pops.

I bought this cereal from my local Walmart Fresh Market. They actually have a (very small) gluten-free section at the very end of the bread isle. They have a few cereals, oats, breads, flours and other basic things a GF person might need.

I know that one myth of living organic and gluten-free is that everything is more expensive.

Well, it’s not.

This cereal cost $3.89 at Walmart. I dare you to go down the cereal aisle and find me a box of Cinnamon Toast Crunch or similar cereal for cheaper than that.

All in all, I think this is a great cereal. I’m looking at the box debating on eating some right now. Get you some almond milk and try it out…or do what I do and just snack on it dry.

–Erica

Leave a Reply

